Home Tech News Google Plus closes after huge data exposure of 500K accounts

Google Plus closes after huge data exposure of 500K accounts

101
0
SHARE
Google Reports Huge Profits Despite the EU’s $5 Billion Fine

Google Plus closes: Google, the tech giant has always promised to deliver the best apps and services to its clients, but recently something went wrong and it made a very unusual decision to close down it’s Google Plus app.  It found some technical errors in 500 thousand personal Google accounts. It was a terrific hit to the company.

After a complete analysis, the company realized that a user’s personal information was accessible to the external developers with the help of a bug that was present in the system for 2 years.  According to the blog post of Google, none of the developers were found to misuse user’s data nor were they aware of this glitch.

Google Plus closes after huge data exposure of 500K accounts:

Ben Smith, Fellow and Vice President of Engineering team in Google said, “We do not know if users were impacted by the bug.  Still, after internal analysis, we found 50,000 personal user accounts were affected by the bug. Moreover, around 438 applications had used this API.”

Project Strobe took an initiative to detect this bug.  This project is a part of a third-party developer that enables to access Android device data and Google accounts.  Prior to this, Google faced a software issue that gave an authority to the external developers to access user’s Google’s profile data.  It was later redesigned and fixed in 2015 and March 2018.

The Wall Street Journal were the first to identify this issue.  Indian-American CEO of Google, Sunder Pichai internally discussed this matter and decided not to notify users about the same.  In the upcoming period, Google will inform users about the further plan of actions and how one can download, migrate, and retrieve their data.  In further point of time, Google will also allow access permissions in individual dialogue boxes.

Whenever any app asks for Google data you need to see what data it is asking for and must Grant permission explicitly.  Moreover, users will also get the chance to control what data they will share with the app; however, instead of noticing all the permission request at a time in the single screen you can view one at a time in the respective dialogue box, Smith further added.